2. Work, Capabilities and Biographies

Embodying an interdisciplinary vision which brings together history, sociology, anthropology and musicology, our research into the modalities of work likewise follows three main lines of interrogation.

This axe is coordinated by Laure SCHNAPPER and Bénédicte ZIMMERMANN

 

The Borders of Work

The first line of investigation brings together research projects which draw from a wide empirical spectrum which stretches from artistic work (L. Schnapper, D.Blanc, I. Mayaud) to agricultural labour (M. Samak), including service activity (D. Subramanian, F. Letourneux). They all explore the way in which work distinguishes itself from other activities, as much in terms of formal recognition (amateurism versus professionalism for example) as of the lived experience of those who carry out such activities. They are animated by a strong resistance to confining our understanding of work to any given concept, interrogating rather its borders and their fluidity in terms of content, form and status (A. Daneau, K. Le Bail). All a priori distinctions between artistic work and other forms of work are refused, and a range of empirical cases are studied in conjunction from the perspective of a common framework of understanding.

Experience and Professional Development

Associating work and capability, the second line of interrogation consider work jointly from an individual and collective viewpoint. It involves an examination of the capability concept, understood in terms of the power to act resulting from the interaction between individuals and their environment. The emphasis is placed on the analysis of the different factors, both personal and environmental, which shape the power to act in a given situation. This leads us to consider the different ways in which work makes sense for people and how its lived experience impacts the course of individual biographies (L. Thévenot, B. Zimmermann). Professional development is approached both from the perspective of professional experience, to the extent that it can be socially objectified through the evaluation of others, and from the perspective of individuals’ personal experience of work. Such an approach leads to explore the tensions between different levels of understanding : work as a source of revenue and economic value ; as a source of accomplishment and self-realization ; but also as a source of identity and social recognition. The collective project ANR/DFG DEVENT ‘Professional Development and the Power to Act of Employees : France and Germany through the Prism of the Multinational’ (J. Kaedtler et B. Zimmermann) pursues this line of questioning in collaboration with colleagues from SOFI Göttingen.

Participation, Forms of Engagement and Collective Action

The third line of inquiry explores the way in which work and capabilities interact simultaneously at the level of biographical pathways and of the  collective structuration of work (S. Marguin). We approach the question of work collectives from different angles : with regards to the resources they offer and the constraints they impose on the power to act; in relation to engagement and participation ; and with regards to their determining role in our evaluation and ‘valuation’ of work. Insofar as the question of collectives is inseparably tied to the question of the values associated with work, it also raises  the issue of the principles of justice at the workplace and thus opens the possibility of exchange and discussion with the third research pole of the Georg Simmel Centre concerning the Spaces of Normativity. The research workshop ‘Individuals and collective’ (F. Letourneux, B. Zimmermann) brings together the research projects which pursue this possibility.

Each of these modes of interrogation functions on at least three distinct levels of analysis : namely at the level of institutions, organizations and biographical pathways. This multi-level approach is fundamental to all research on work carried out by the Centre Georg Simmel. Another characteristic is the embedding of this research within a resolutely transnational perspective, which opens towards Germany and beyond.

i

Axe 2 – Travail, capacités et parcours biographiques

Interdisciplinaires, associant histoire, sociologie, anthropologie et musicologie, les recherches sur le travail se déploient autour de trois lignes de problématisation.

Cet axe est coordonné par Laure SCHNAPPER et Bénédicte ZIMMERMANN

 

Frontières du travail

La première ligne regroupe des travaux qui, sur la base d’un large spectre empirique – du travail artiste (L. Schnapper, D.Blanc, I. Mayaud) au travail agricole (M. Samak) en passant par les activités de services (D. Subramanian, F. Letourneux), explore la manière dont le travail se différencie d’autres activités tant sur le plan catégoriel (amateurisme versus professionnalisme par exemple) que sur le plan de l’expérience vécue de ceux qui réalisent ces activités. La première ligne de problématisation consiste ainsi à ne pas cantonner l’acception du travail à une définition donnée, pour interroger au contraire ses frontières et leur mouvance, en termes de contenu, de formes et de statut (A. Daneau, K. Le Bail). Il s’agit de refuser toute distinction a priori entre le travail artiste et les autres formes de travail, pour entreprendre à travers une diversité de cas empiriques, leur étude conjointe à partir d’une même boite à outils.

Expériences et parcours professionnels

En associant travail et capacités, la seconde ligne de problématisation amène à considérer le travail conjointement sous un angle individuel et collectif. Les travaux menés dans ce cadre mobilisent la notion de capacité sous l’angle du pouvoir d‘agir qui résulte de l’interaction entre une personne et son environnement (dans un sens large incluant la famille et le lieu de travail jusqu’aux institutions). L’accent porte ici sur l’analyse des différents facteurs, aussi bien personnels qu’environnementaux, qui déterminent le pouvoir d’agir des personnes dans une situation donnée. Il s’agit d’analyser la manière dont le travail s’invite dans les biographies, et sur son expérience, envisagée conjointement comme source d’acquisitions et d’épreuves (L. Thévenot, B. Zimmermann). Les parcours professionnels sont appréhendés tout à la fois sous l’angle de l’expérience professionnelle, telle qu’elle est socialement objectivable à travers l’évaluation par autrui, et sous l’angle de l’expérience vécue du travail, telle qu’elle est éprouvée par les personnes. Un tel abord révèle les tensions entre différentes acceptions du travail : le travail comme source de revenu et de valeur économique, comme source d’accomplissement et de réalisation de soi, mais aussi comme source d’identité et de reconnaissance sociales (J. Landour). Le projet collectif ANR/DFG DEVENT « Développement professionnel et capacités d’agir des salariés. La France et l’Allemagne au prisme de multinationales » (J. Kaedtler et B. Zimmermann) étend ces questionnement à une exploration conjointe avec des collègues du SOFI Göttingen.

Participation, formes de l’engagement et du collectif

Une troisième ligne de problématisation consiste à étudier la manière dont travail et capacités interagissent à la fois au niveau des devenirs biographiques et des collectifs liés au travail (S. Marguin). Nous analysons ici les collectifs sous différents angles : des ressources et des contraintes qu’ils impliquent pour le pouvoir d’agir, des formes de l’engagement et de la participation, mais également des formes d’évaluation et de « valuation » du travail. Parce que le collectif pose de manière incontournable la question des valeurs associées au travail, il ouvre, à travers notamment la question des principes de justice, un front d’échanges et de discussions avec le troisième axe de recherche du Centre dédié aux « Espaces de normativité ». L’atelier de recherche « Individu et collectifs » (F. Letourneux, B. Zimmermann) vient fédérer l’ensemble des travaux conduits sous cette ligne.

Le propre de ces différents axes de problématisation du travail est de tenir ensemble au moins trois niveaux d’analyse : celui des institutions, des organisations et des devenirs biographiques. Une telle approche multi-niveaux constitue une première caractéristique des recherches sur le travail menées au Centre Georg Simmel, la seconde consiste à décloisonner ces recherches en les inscrivant dans une perspective résolument transnationale, ouvrant vers l’Allemagne, mais également au-delà.